Donate to the 30/30 Poetry Project!

Dear Friends,

Tupelo Press, one of the great independent literary presses, has tapped me and 8 other poets to write 30 poems in 30 days (actually 29 days, this being a leap year February) for their February 30/30 Poetry Project. This raises funds for Tupelo’s ongoing publishing support of emerging and established writers and poets as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization (yes, donations are tax-deductable).

The 30/30 Project’s approach is like the sponsored walks, runs or rides of other nonprofits, except here sponsors benefit and help in the creation of original poetry.
I invite you to participate in this Project with me by sponsoring one — or more – of my remaining 10 poems.

Here’s how it works: Each poem I write is published that day or soon after at the Tupelo Press 30/30 Project website, https://tupelopress.wordpress.com/3030-project. Every day all February you will read some wonderful, newly-minted work by me and my 30/30 colleagues – 270 new poems in all. I have already written 18 poems this month that are published at the website, and there are 12 more left to go!

Here’s where you come in: You can sponsor my poems with a donation of at least $25 per poem. For each poem you sponsor, you can challenge me by giving me the poem’s title or an image or word, which I will then accommodate into the poem (or you can just let me loose on my own!). For those of you who want to enter the process further, for at least $50 per poem I will write a poem built around a person you would like to honor or memorialize. Finally, for $100 one lucky sponsor will have the distinction of sponsoring a quadrennial poetry event – a Leap Year pair of poems on February 29th. We will discuss how to make these special.

I hope that this excites your interest in my work and the poetry process. It’s all for a good cause and should be fun for everyone! If you choose to donate, please go to Tupelo’s page at https://www.tupelopress.org/donate.php. Scroll down to “Is this donation in honor of a 30/30 poet?” and select my name, “Clyde Long” from the pull down menu, so that Tupelo can credit the donation to my work. Also, message me so that I can appreciate your donation and talk with you about “your” poem(s).

Here’s to poems in February!

Clyde

Leave a Reply

